How to Teach Your Kids Their Address and Phone Number

178708102Everyone knows how important it is for children to memorize their address and phone number. This is true not just for convenience, but also for safety. Children often learn best when there is some sort of game involved, and there are many fun ways you can teach your child his or her address and phone number.

  1. Make a Map of the Neighborhood

Have your child draw a map of the neighborhood, or draw one together. Place your address and phone number on the house. Put other important or fun locations on the map as well, like the school or a best friend’s house.

  1. Put It to Song

Make up a song comprised of the address and phone number, or find a variety online. A common choice is Frere Jacques.

  1. Make a Sequence Activity

Separate your address and phone number onto separate index cards, like so:

  • House number
  • Street name
  • City or Town
  • State
  • Zip Code

Place the index cards out of order, and then have your child put them in the correct order. You can also do this with just the telephone number, by placing each number on a separate card.

  1. Practice in Real Life

Have your child practice punching the numbers on a cell phone or house phone. You can also teach your child the correct buttons to push, like “send,” in order to complete the call.

  1. Use an Abacus

An abacus, or any other type of manipulative, is a great way for your child to practice and visualize your phone number. It’s also a great counting exercise.

  1. Make a Mailbox

Create a makeshift mailbox out of a cardboard box, or purchase a play mailbox. Your children can send each other letters through the mailbox after addressing the envelopes.

  1. Turn It into a Craft Project

A fun 3-D alternative to a map is a small, standing house. You can make it out of cardboard or anything else that will stand upright. Kids can design the front to match the house, and then add the street number. You can also put up a marker next to the house with the street name.

  1. Create a Game

Make a phone number game from popular games like hopscotch and BINGO.

Use one method, or mix and match. The possibilities are endless for teaching your child his or her phone number.

Please LIKE and FOLLOW for all fut

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “How to Teach Your Kids Their Address and Phone Number”

  1. Enjoying The Simple Things In Life says :

    I taught my daughter our phone numbers when she was about 3 using a song and to this day almost 5 years later she still remembers my old number thanks to the singsong voice we practiced in. I did this because my mom has me repeat my childhood house phone number over and over until I memorized it and 25 years later I still remember that phone number. Another good thing to practise calling 911. We would practice dialing it on my cell phone and I would use my husband’s phone and pretend to be the operator. I would usually do it out of no where like call her into my room and lay on the floor after taking a shower and say quick if I fell and hit my head getting out of the shower and I can’t talk or wake up what do you do. The it would at least catch her off guard because of course if she ever did need t call 911 it wouldn’t be a cool, calm and anticipated moment. Great ideas!

Leave a comment